Gravity (3d)

This was an absolutely beautiful movie, the 3d, possibly the first time since Avatar, actually added to the movie.

I knew going in that the science in this movie was a bit wonky, I deliberately didn’t look into it because I didn’t want it to spoil my viewing.  This is pretty much a 2 hander in which Sandra Bullock and George Clooney get cut adrift in space and start drifting.

I think the Sandra Bullock back story was irrelevant and unnecessary, I always think referring to a dead child is cheap and it makes me prickle.

English: Bullock Sandra in Cannes

English: Bullock Sandra in Cannes (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As much as I think that the 3d was wonderful, it totally takes you out the movie. At one point Bullock cries and her zero gravity tear drifts towards the camera. All the while I’m thinking “Wow that looks cool, here it comes, that’s amazing.” Never really engaging into the reasons why she is crying. That I believe is the crux of the issue with 3d as long as you are getting immersed in the gimmick you are not being immersed  in the storyline or the emotion. That is why I believe there will never be a totally perfect 3d movie.

Would I recommend this? Yes, it’s beautiful, but only in the cinema I don’t think the movie would be all that compelling in the house without the gimmick.

Leave a Reply

